Home » Mini-Schools

Galen Mini-Schools

From the beginning of 2018, Galen will have two Mini-Schools to cater to the needs of our learners. Our new Junior School will comprise of Year 7, 8 and 9 students, and our new Senior School will comprise of Year 10, 11 and 12 students.

Before 2018, we had a Year Level Co-ordinator at each year level. The Year Level Co-ordinator had to oversee all learning and pastoral wellbeing aspects for all students in their cohort. However, in 2018 there will be a teacher dedicated as the Pastoral Wellbeing Leader and another teacher dedicated as the Learning Leader. This is a big advantage for our students and parents as we now have two quality staff overseeing and monitoring student progress. The Pastoral Wellbeing Leader and Learning Leader will work closely with the new Head of School (previously known as Mini School Director).

Information about our 2018 Mini-Schools, Head of School, Year level Learning Leaders and Pastoral Wellbeing Leaders, Admin contacts, year level guides and information about how students progress through our school can be found below.

Information guides

Junior School

The Junior School at Galen Catholic College is comprised of students in Years 7, 8 and 9.

While in Junior School, students undertake a broad range of studies including:

  • Arts (Drama, Music, Art, Visual Communication & Design, and Ceramics)
  • English
  • Health and Physical Education
  • LOTE – Languages Other Than English (Italian and Indonesian)
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Humanities
  • Physical Education
  • Technology (Food Technology and Materials & Technology)

This broad range of subject areas ensure a balanced and comprehensive program for students undertaking the early years of their secondary education. Through studying a variety of subjects, students gain the opportunity to develop a range of skills and discover their personal strengths.

Senior School

In Year 10, 11 & 12 students have the flexibility to study a course that suits their own interests and needs. Galen offers programmes in 5 basic formats with choices in all of them.

  • Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE)
  • Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL)
  • Australian School Based Apprenticeships (AS-bA)
  • Vocational Education and Training (VET)
  • Extension studies

Other Programs :

  • Distance Education Centre
  • Victorian School of Languages

Junior School contacts

Head of Junior School
Mrs. Wendy Chuck Wendy.Chuck@galen.vic.edu.au 

Junior School Administrator/Registrar
Mrs. Mardi Mogford Mardi.Mogford@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 7 Learning Leader
Mr. Daniel Green Daniel.Green@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 7 Pastoral Wellbeing Leader
Mrs. Jennie Annett Jennie.Annett@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 8 Learning Leader
Mr. Jonas Anderberg Jonas.Anderberg@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 8 Pastoral Wellbeing Leader
Mrs. Lyndel Annett Lyndel.Annett@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 9 Learning Leader
Mr. Rob Spencer Robert.Spencer@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 9 Pastoral Wellbeing Leader
Mr. Tom Anson Tom.Anson@galen.vic.edu.au

Senior School contacts

Head of Senior School
Mr. Anthony Batters Anthony.Batters@galen.vic.edu.au

Senior School Administrator
Mrs. Kate Williams Kate.Williams@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 10 Learning Leader
Mrs. Kylie Quin Kylie.Quin@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 11 Learning Leader
Ms. Emma Hunter Emma.Hunter@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 12 Learning Leader

Senior School Pastoral Wellbeing Leaders 
(The Senior School Pastoral Wellbeing Leaders each work with all of our Year 10, 11 & 12 students equally)
Ms. Ashlee Burke Ashlee.Burke@galen.vic.edu.au
Mrs. Liz Morrow Liz.Morrow@galen.vic.edu.au
Mrs. Julie Nolan Julie.Nolan@galen.vic.edu.au

VCAL Co-ordinator
Ms. Kelly Smith Kelly.Smith@galen.vic.edu.au

VET Co-ordinator
Mrs. Kim McLeod Kim.McLeod@galen.vic.edu.au

Careers and Further Education (CAFE) Co-ordinator
Mr. Peter Girolami Peter.Girolami@galen.vic.edu.au