Home » Mini-Schools

Galen Mini-Schools

Year levels at Galen are divided into three mini-schools. Years 7 & 8 form the Junior School, our Middle School comprises of Years 9 & 10, and the Senior School includes Year 11 & 12 VCE and VCAL students.

Information about our mini-schools, year level Directors and Coordinators, year level guides and information about how students progress through our school can be found below.

Information guides

Junior School

The Junior School at Galen Catholic College is comprised of students in years 7 and 8.

While in Junior School, years 7 and 8 students undertake a broad range of studies including:

  • Arts (Drama, Music, Art, Visual Communication & Design, and Ceramics)
  • English
  • Health and Physical Education
  • LOTE – Languages Other Than English (Italian and Indonesian)
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Humanities
  • Physical Education
  • Technology (Food Technology and Materials & Technology)

This broad range of subject areas ensure a balanced and comprehensive program for students undertaking the early years of their secondary education. Through studying a variety of subjects, students gain the opportunity to develop a range of skills and discover their personal strengths.

Middle School

The Middle School at Galen Catholic College is comprised of students in years 9 and 10.

While in Middle School, years 9 and 10 students undertake core studies and can choose from a broad range of elective subjects including:

  • Arts (Drama, Music, Art, Visual Communication & Design, and Ceramics)
  • English
  • Health and Physical Education
  • LOTE – Languages Other Than English (Italian and Indonesian)
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Geography
  • Physical Education
  • Technology (Food Technology and Materials & Technology)

This broad range of subject areas ensure a balanced and comprehensive program for students undertaking the middle years of their secondary education. Through studying a variety of subjects, students gain the opportunity to develop a range of skills and discover their personal strengths.

Senior School

In Year 11 & 12 students have the flexibility to study a course that suits their own interests and needs. Galen offers programmes in 5 basic formats with choices in all of them.

  • Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE)
  • Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL)
  • Australian School Based Apprenticeships (AS-bA)
  • Vocational Education and Training (VET)
  • Extension studies

Other Programs :

  • Distance Education Centre
  • Victorian School of Languages

A new Senior Studies Guide for Galen students will be available early Term 3, 2015. This updated, comprehensive booklet will contain detailed information for students and parents to make informed decisions about their future.

Junior School contacts

Junior School Director
Mrs. Wendy Chuck Wendy.Chuck@galen.vic.edu.au 

Year 7 Co-ordinator
Mr. Jim Samon Jim.Samon@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 8 Co-ordinator
Mr. Robert Spencer Robert.Spencer@galen.vic.edu.au

Middle School contacts

Middle School Director
Mr Rob Walker Rob.Walker@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 10 Co-ordinator
Ms Liz Morrow Liz.Morrow@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 9 Co-ordinator
Ms Kelly Smith Kelly.Smith@galen.vic.edu.au

Careers Advice
Mr Peter Girolami Peter.Girolami@galen.vic.edu.au

Senior School contacts

Senior School Director
Mr. Mick Grogan
Mick.Grogan@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 12 Co-ordinator
Mrs. Anne O’Dwyer
Anne.ODwyer@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 11 Co-ordinator
Mrs Kirsty Woods
Kirsty.Woods@galen.vic.edu.au

VCAL Co-ordinator
Ms Beth Code
Beth.Code@galen.vic.edu.au

Careers Advice
Mr Peter Girolami
Peter.Girolami@galen.vic.edu.au