Swimming Sports 2017

The Galen Swim Carnival took place at the Olympic Pool on a beautiful evening, on Tuesday 21st February, 2017. 

There were some creative costumes on show, demonstrating a great amount of effort students had gone to, to display their house colours. The house captains did a fantastic job organizing the relays, encouraging others to participate, generating house spirit and leading by example by competing in many races themselves. Congratulations to Chisholm for getting back on the trophy with 641 points. 

A number of records were broken during the night.  Well done to the following record breakers, an amazing effort!

Maggie Skewes 14 yr freestyle, butterfly, superswim

Harry Skewes 17 yr freestyle, backstroke, butterfly

Lucy Hughes 15 yr breaststroke

Gabe Watson 16 yr butterfly, breaststroke

The Super Swim was definitely a highlight of the evening.  This event is a 50m freestyle swim between the eight fastest females and eight fastest males of the night. 

Representing the females were Maggie Skewes (yr 8), Phoebe Osborne (yr 9), Lucy Hughes (yr 9), Hannah Tidd (yr 9), Mietta Habets (yr 7), Shayla Leavett-Brown (yr 11), Amelie Chalivet (yr 11), Lucy Lee (yr 12). Congratulations to Maggie winning the event in a record breaking 28.75 seconds.

The eight fastest males were Gabe Watson (yr10), Harry Skewes (yr 11 ), Henry Lee (yr 9 ), Sean McMahon (yr 8), Liam Cook (yr 11), Jac Holmes (yr 12), Jack Gerrish (yr 11), and Will Canny (yr 9).  Congratulations to Gabe Watson who had a convincing win in just 28.72 seconds.

The last event of the evening was the staff/student freestyle relay.  This event consisted of a staff team including Amanda White, Nick Beattie, Andrew Sinclair and George McLeod.  They were joined by some enthusiastic student teams all wanting to beat their teachers. The teachers team were unfortunately unsuccessful this year, with the Year 10 team taking out the first position – just!!  Well done and thank you to all competitors, it’s always a fun event to finish off the evening. 

Finally, congratulations are in order for our age group champions. These are the best performers from each age group, males and females, on the night.  Each age group champion will be presented with a medallion at an upcoming assembly.

13 year olds
Mietta Habets
Finn Osborne

15 Year olds
Lucy Hughes
Henry Lee

17 Year olds
Shayla Leavett-Brown
Harry Skewes

14 year olds
Maggie Skewes
Zack Watson

16 Year olds
Jorja Reidy
Gabe Watson

20 Year olds
Lucy Lee
Jack Jenkin

Special thanks must also go to the East Timor Crew who organized the sausage sizzle. A big thank you to all of the house captains, teachers and parents who helped out on the night, and to all students for creating such an enthusiastic and fun atmosphere, and braving the heat!

The final house results were:

1st: Chisholm 614

2nd: McKillop 524

3rd: Champagnat 511

4th: Delany 383