Home » Junior & Senior Schools

Junior School & Senior School

Year levels at Galen are arranged into a Junior School (Years 7-9) and a Senior School (Years 10-12) allowing for greater learning opportunities.

Galen has a teacher dedicated as the Pastoral Wellbeing Leader and another teacher dedicated as the Learning Leader for each year level at Galen. This is a big advantage for our students and parents as we have two experienced staff overseeing and monitoring student progress. The Pastoral Wellbeing Leaders and Learning Leaders work closely with the Head of School for our Junior and Senior areas.

Junior School (Year 7-9)

While in Junior School, students undertake a broad range of studies including: Arts (Drama, Music, Art, Visual Communication Design, and Ceramics), English, Health and Physical Education, Languages (Italian and Indonesian), Mathematics, Science, Humanities, Physical Education and Technology (Food Technology and Materials & Technology).

This broad range of subject areas ensure a balanced and comprehensive program for students undertaking the early years of their secondary education. Through studying a variety of subjects, students gain the opportunity to develop a range of skills and discover their personal strengths.

Senior School (Year 10-12)

Senior students have the flexibility to study a course that suits their own interests and needs. Galen offers programmes in 5 basic formats with choices in all of them.

  • Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE)
  • Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL)
  • Australian School Based Apprenticeships (AS-bA)
  • Vocational Education and Training (VET)
  • Extension studies

Other Programs :

  • Distance Education Centre
  • Victorian School of Languages

Information guides & curriculum

Please click here to download relevant Course Guides for your child/children containing year level specific information, curriculum and subject outlines.

Contacts

Junior School contacts

Junior School Leader
Mr Jonas Anderberg Jonas.Anderberg@galen.vic.edu.au

Junior School Administrator
Mrs Mardi Mogford Mardi.Mogford@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 7 Learning Leader
Mrs Kylie Girolami Kylie.Girolami@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 8 Learning Leader
Mr Dan Green Daniel.Green@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 9 Learning Leader
Mr Nick Beattie Nick.Beattie@galen.vic.edu.au

Senior School contacts

Senior School Leader
Mrs Kylie Quin Kylie.Quin@galen.vic.edu.au

Senior School Administrator
Mrs Kate Williams Kate.Williams@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 10 Learning Leader
Ms Ashlee Burke Ashlee.Burke@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 11 Learning Leader
Mr Matt Turnbull matthew.turnbull@galen.vic.edu.au

Year 12 Learning Leader
Mrs Liz Morrow Liz.Morrow@galen.vic.edu.au

VCAL Leader
Ms Kelly Smith Kelly.Smith@galen.vic.edu.au

VET Leader
Mr Trent Allan Trent.Allan@galen.vic.edu.au

Careers and Further Education Co-ordinator
Mr Peter GirolamiPeter.Girolami@galen.vic.edu.au